History of the Charles Bridge
The construction of the Charles Bridge was commissioned by Charles IV, and architect Petr Parléř was in charge of the works. Before 1870, this bridge was called the Stone Bridge and was damaged on two occasions, in 1432 and in 1784, due to flooding.
Charles Bridge Towers
The big tower was built sometime in the 15th century, while the small tower was originally a part of another bridge, called the Judith Bridge. Today, both towers offer panoramic views of the city and are considered to be one of the main attractions in Prague.
Charles Bridge Statues
There are 30 statues on both sides of the bridge. Most of the statues were built in the 18th century, and the oldest one that was placed on the bridge in 1683 is called St. John of Nepomuk.