Charming the City for Centuries
The picturesque St. James’s Park’s history began in 1532 as royal hunting grounds for Henry VIII. Successive kings commissioned grand redesigns that culminated with John Nash’s extensive remodeling in 1827 and the park was opened to the public in 1887.
Flowers, Waterfowls and More
The St. James’s Park is one of the most beautiful parks in all of London; the immaculately maintained flowerbeds, lush lawns, memorials, stately monuments and splendid fountains have delighted millions of visitors each year. The Park Lake is home to several waterfowls including a modest colony of pelicans.
In summer evenings the park is illuminated to create a magical experiences for everyone.
- The Park is a great place to catch a glimpse of the iconic Changing the Guard at the Buckingham Palace.
- The Park hires out deck chairs from March through till October so you can enjoy its tranquil beauty in comfort.
- Children and bird lovers will enjoy watching the pelican feeding session every day at 2:30 pm.